ebbillcalc

200 Ah battery backup time

How long a 12 V 200 Ah tubular inverter battery runs at different loads, alone and as a 24 V pair.

  • About 9 h 30 min at 200 W
  • About 4 h 05 min at 400 W

One 200 Ah battery (12 V inverter)

A fully charged, healthy battery. At 400 W it discharges at about 0.21C, against the C20 (0.05C) its Ah is rated at, so it gives less than the label.

LoadBackupExample
50 W38 h 25 minWi-Fi and two lights
100 W19 h 10 minA fan and three lights
150 W12 h 50 min
200 W9 h 30 minTwo fans, four lights, TV
250 W7 h 20 min
300 W5 h 55 minThree fans, lights, TV, Wi-Fi
400 W4 h 05 minThree fans, six lights, TV, Wi-Fi
500 W3 hAdd the fridge
600 W2 h 20 minFour fans, lights, TV, fridge
800 W1 h 25 minA big house, or a cooler

Two 200 Ah batteries (24 V inverter)

The usual set-up for 1.5 kVA and 2 kVA inverters.

LoadBackup (2 batteries, 24 V)
300 W12 h 50 min
400 W9 h 30 min
500 W7 h 20 min
600 W5 h 55 min
800 W4 h 05 min
1000 W3 h
1200 W2 h 20 min
1500 W1 h 35 min

200 Ah models we list

Specs as stated on each manufacturer’s page. Sorted by brand; we don’t rank them.

ModelTypeWarrantyMaker’s backup at 400 W
Amaron AM200TT54tall tubular54 months (36 free replacement + 18 pro-rata)—
Amaron AR200TT54tall tubular54 months (36 free replacement + 18 pro-rata)—
Exide FEM0-IMTT2000tall tubularNot stated—
Exide IZTT2000HLtall tubular60 months (36 free replacement + 24 pro-rata)3 h 50 min
Livguard IT2048TTtall tubular48 months (24 free replacement + 24 pro-rata)—
Livguard IT2060TTtall tubular60 months—
Livguard IT2072TTtall tubular72 months—
Luminous Red Charge RC 25000tubular36 months (18 free replacement + 18 pro-rata)—
Microtek M2003624TTtall tubular60 months (36 free replacement + 24 pro-rata)—
V-Guard VT 200Not statedSee V-Guard’s product page (it differs from the 2021 brochure)4 h
V-Guard VT 200SNot statedSee V-Guard’s product page (it differs from the 2021 brochure)3 h 55 min

Method: watt-hours at 12 V × the share lead-acid delivers at that current, fitted to V-Guard’s published 400 W backup table, ÷ load. Checked against Exide’s Inva Zen tables, which it matches within about 10% from 200 to 400 W and undershoots at 100 W. Real backup falls as the battery ages.