ebbillcalc

Exide STAR 12V 1050VA vs Luminous Optimus 1250+

Two 12 V home inverters of about the same size, side by side on the specs each maker states. They differ on rating, max charging current.

  • Specs from makers’ pages
  • Backup worked out the same way for both

Side by side

“Not stated” means the maker’s page doesn’t give it, not that the inverter lacks it.

Exide STAR 12V 1050VALuminous Optimus 1250+
Rating1050 VA1100 VA / 924 W
Battery12 V12 V
Output wavePure sine wavePure sine wave
Max charging current13 A18 A
Lithium supportNot statedNot stated
WarrantyNot stated36 months
Comfortable load672 W739 W
Backup at 300 W, 1 × 150 Ah4 h 05 min4 h 05 min
SourceExide product pageLuminous product page

What actually differs

Which homes each one runs

From the running load of each set with a 25% margin, against each inverter’s VA.

Home or loadNeedsExide STAR 12V 1050VALuminous Optimus 1250+
1 BHK home431 VAYesYes
2 BHK home811 VAYesYes
3 BHK home1048 VAYesYes
4 BHK or independent house1528 VANoNo
Refrigerator263 VAYesYes
1 HP water pump1200 VANoNo
Air cooler728 VAYesYes
Work from home473 VAYesYes
Small shop609 VAYesYes
1.5 ton AC2372 VANoNo

What each adds to your bill

At half its comfortable load. Standby is 1% of rated watts, an assumption: no Indian brand publishes it.

Exide STAR 12V 1050VALuminous Optimus 1250+
Running 336 W / 370 W, 2 h of cuts a day37.5 units a month41.3 units a month
of which standby6 units6.7 units

Backup

Backup depends on the battery, not the inverter brand: with the same batteries and load, both give about the same hours.