ebbillcalc

Uttar Pradesh electricity tariff since 2015

A home in Uttar Pradesh that uses 200 units a month pays ₹1,345 under today’s UPERC tariff, before duty and fuel surcharge. In 2015-16 the same use cost ₹1,088. UPERC has not raised the home tariff since September 2019. This page shows every tariff order since 2015, with the official source for each figure.

  • 13 tariff periods since April 2015
  • Each figure from an official order
  • Checked 16 Oct 2026

The bill over ten years

Tariff, 200 units a month₹1,088 → ₹1,3452015-16 to 2026-27: +24%. After inflation: −24%.
Prices in general+63%Consumer price index (MoSPI), FY 2015-16 to FY 2026-27.
Bill for one month: energy, fixed and customer charges, without electricity duty or fuel surcharge. Each step is a new tariff order. Tap or point at the chart for the figures.

The 200-unit bill, before and after inflation

200 units a month. The blue line is the bill at the prices of the time. The orange line shows the same bill in today’s rupees (MoSPI consumer price index). Where the orange line is higher, the bill cost more then than now, after inflation.

How UPPCL discoms bills 200 units, then and now

Tariff in 2015-16₹1,088 a month
150 units₹4.4050 units₹4.95

150 units at ₹4.40 = ₹660, 50 units at ₹4.95 = ₹248; fixed and other charges ₹180

Tariff today₹1,345 a month
100 units₹5.5050 units₹5.5050 units₹6.00

100 units at ₹5.50 = ₹550, 50 units at ₹5.50 = ₹275, 50 units at ₹6.00 = ₹300; fixed and other charges ₹220

200 units a month. Each piece is one slab: its units and its rate.

Every tariff order since 2015

  1. The UPERC tariff of October 2014. Homes pay Rs 4.00 a unit for the first 150 units and a fixed charge of Rs 75 per kW a month.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2014-15 for PVVNL (separate orders of the same date for DVVNL, MVVNL, PuVVNL, KESCO), Rate Schedule LMV-1 3(c)2, PDF p.424start date estimated
  2. UPERC raised all rates: Rs 4.00 to Rs 4.40 a unit for the first 150 units. The fixed charge rose from Rs 75 to Rs 90 per kW a month.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2015-16 for PVVNL (same-date orders for other state discoms), Rate Schedule PDF p.333; applicability PDF p.308; regulatory surcharge para 8.4.11 PDF p.274start date estimated
  3. UPERC kept the home tariff of 2015-16 unchanged.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2016-17 for PVVNL, Petition 1063/2015 etc. (same-date orders for other state discoms), Rate Schedule PDF p.328; applicability PDF p.305; regulatory surcharge PDF p.252start date estimated
  4. UPERC raised all rates: Rs 4.40 to Rs 4.90 a unit for the first 150 units. The fixed charge rose from Rs 90 to Rs 100 per kW a month.UPERC MYT Tariff Order for State Discoms, FY 2017-18 to FY 2019-20, Petitions 1203/2017 etc., Rate Schedule LMV-1 3(c)2 PDF p.436start date estimated
  5. UPERC kept the tariff of November 2017 unchanged for 2018-19.UPERC Suo Moto Order on ARR & Tariff for FY 2018-19 for State Discoms, Executive summary para 5.4.3, p.37 (date of order from FY 2020-21 order para 2.2.1)start date estimated
  6. UPERC raised all rates: Rs 4.90 to Rs 5.50 a unit for the first 150 units. The fixed charge rose to Rs 110 per kW, and UPERC ended the regulatory surcharge.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2019-20, APR FY 2018-19, True-up FY 2017-18 for State Discoms, Scanned order (no text layer) not read; rates taken from FY 2020-21 order para 8.1.9 (PDF p.530) and its rate schedule (PDF p.552)start date estimated
  7. UPERC kept the 2019-20 tariff unchanged.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2020-21, APR FY 2019-20, True-up FY 2018-19 for State Discoms, Para 8.1.9-8.1.10 PDF p.530; para 9.1.1 PDF p.531; Rate Schedule PDF p.552start date estimated
  8. UPERC kept the tariff unchanged.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2021-22, APR FY 2020-21, True-up FY 2019-20, Petitions 1687-1691/2021, Para 9.2.1 PDF p.532; Rate Schedule PDF p.569start date estimated
  9. UPERC changed the slabs to up to 100, 101 to 150, 151 to 300 and above 300 units. Rates up to 300 units did not change, and all units above 300 now cost Rs 6.50.UPERC Order on True-up FY 2020-21, APR FY 2021-22, ARR & Tariff FY 2022-23, Petitions 1833-1837/2022 (operative order + Rate Schedule), Rate Schedule LMV-1 3(c)2 PDF p.14 (printed p.11 of 48); order pages PDF p.1-3read from a scanstart date estimated
  10. UPERC kept the tariff unchanged. It did not approve the discoms' request for Rs 120 per kW and higher unit rates.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2023-24, Petitions 1945-1949/2023, Para 8.1.15 PDF p.610; existing-vs-proposed table PDF p.607start date estimated
  11. UPERC kept the rates that homes pay unchanged. The order printed a fixed charge of Rs 90 per kW in error, and UPERC corrected it to Rs 110 the next day.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2024-25, Petitions 2040-2043/2023 and 2048/2023, with Corrigendum dated 11.10.2024, Para 8.1.13 PDF p.547; Rate Schedule LMV-1 3(c)2 PDF p.628; Corrigendum item C p.2-3start date estimated
  12. UPERC kept the tariff unchanged.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2025-26, Petitions 2162-2165/2024 and 2176/2024, Para 8.6.5 PDF p.427; Rate Schedule LMV-1 3(c)2 PDF p.500start date estimated
  13. UPERC kept the tariff unchanged for 2026-27.UPERC Tariff Order FY 2026-27 for State Discoms, Petitions 2314-2318 (2025-26), Para 8.2.7 PDF p.360; para 9.1.5 PDF p.369; Rate Schedule LMV-1 3(c)2 PDF p.422start date estimated

The figures

FromOrderUPERC tariff, a month
100 units200 units300 units
1 Apr 2015start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2014-15₹550₹975₹1,425
18 Jun 2015start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2015-16₹620▲ 13%₹1,088▲ 12%₹1,583▲ 11%
1 Aug 2016start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2016-17₹620₹1,088₹1,583
30 Nov 2017start date estimatedUPERC MYT Order of November 2017₹690▲ 11%₹1,205▲ 11%₹1,745▲ 10%
22 Jan 2019start date estimatedUPERC Suo Moto Order FY 2018-19₹690₹1,205₹1,745
3 Sep 2019start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2019-20₹770▲ 12%₹1,345▲ 12%₹1,945▲ 11%
11 Nov 2020start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2020-21₹770₹1,345₹1,945
29 Jul 2021start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2021-22₹770₹1,345₹1,945
20 Jul 2022read from a scanstart date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2022-23₹770₹1,345₹1,945
24 May 2023start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2023-24₹770₹1,345₹1,945
10 Oct 2024start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2024-25 + Corrigendum₹770₹1,345₹1,945
22 Nov 2025start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2025-26₹770₹1,345₹1,945
2 Jul 2026start date estimatedUPERC Tariff Order FY 2026-27₹770₹1,345₹1,945
  1. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹550
    200 u₹975
    300 u₹1,425
  2. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹620▲ 13%
    200 u₹1,088▲ 12%
    300 u₹1,583▲ 11%
  3. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹620
    200 u₹1,088
    300 u₹1,583
  4. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹690▲ 11%
    200 u₹1,205▲ 11%
    300 u₹1,745▲ 10%
  5. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹690
    200 u₹1,205
    300 u₹1,745
  6. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹770▲ 12%
    200 u₹1,345▲ 12%
    300 u₹1,945▲ 11%
  7. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹770
    200 u₹1,345
    300 u₹1,945
  8. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹770
    200 u₹1,345
    300 u₹1,945
  9. read from a scanstart date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹770
    200 u₹1,345
    300 u₹1,945
  10. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹770
    200 u₹1,345
    300 u₹1,945
  11. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹770
    200 u₹1,345
    300 u₹1,945
  12. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹770
    200 u₹1,345
    300 u₹1,945
  13. start date estimated
    Tariff
    100 u₹770
    200 u₹1,345
    300 u₹1,945

▲ ▼: change from the period before. “—”: no official document states this figure. Download the data (CSV).

How we work it out

  • One home: urban, single phase, 2 kW. It uses 100, 200 or 300 units a month.
  • The bill is energy charge plus fixed and customer charges, from the tariff in each order. It does not include electricity duty, tax or fuel surcharge.
  • “In today’s rupees” uses the consumer price index of MoSPI (all India, general). We use the average of the months of each financial year. For 2026-27 we use April to September.
  • We read some orders from scanned copies. The table marks these periods.
  • UPERC tariffs start seven days after the discoms publish them in newspapers. We did not find these dates, so we show the order date. The table marks these periods.

Recent changes, with the full order details

The change log since April 2023: tariff, fuel surcharge, schemes and duty.

FY 2026-27
Fuel surcharge

UPPCL FPPAS for October 2026 bills: minus 5.24%

UPPCL · UPPCL letter No. 501/RAU/IC dated 29 September 2026 · order dated 29 September 2026

UPPCL's fuel and power purchase adjustment for October 2026 bills is a reduction of 5.24% for all categories. This is the latest value; it changes month to month.

Source
  • UPPCL letter No. 501/RAU/IC
    “(scanned letter, text not machine-readable; value taken from the discom notice as recorded in ebbillcalc fuel.json) FPPAS for October 2026 bills -5.24%”

Read once from the official document; treat the figures as provisional.

FY 2026-27
Tariff order

UPERC tariff order for FY 2026-27: no tariff hike, domestic bills unchanged

UPERC (UPPCL discoms: DVVNL, MVVNL, PVVNL, PuVVNL, KESCO) · UPERC Tariff Order FY 2026-27 for State Discoms dated 2 July 2026

The Commission gave no tariff hike for FY 2026-27 because the discoms have an accumulated surplus. The rate payable by a home is the same as in FY 2025-26 (urban 5.50, 5.50, 6.00, 6.50 a unit with Rs 110/kW fixed; lifeline 3.00 a unit). The order says tariffs apply seven days after newspaper publication; the publication date is not stated, so the order date is used.

Before

UnitsRs/kWh
0–1005.5
100–1505.5
150–3006
Above 3006.5

Fixed: Rs 110/kW/month (urban metered); Rs 90/kW/month (rural metered); Rs 50/kW/month (lifeline)

After

UnitsRs/kWh
0–1005.5
100–1505.5
150–3006
Above 3006.5

Fixed: unchanged

Per month, tariff payable by consumer after GoUP subsidy and cross-subsidy adjustment. Urban 'other metered domestic'. Rural metered: 0-100 3.35, 101-150 3.85, 151-300 5.00, above 300 5.50, also unchanged. Lifeline (1 kW, up to 100 units) 3.00. The pre-subsidy tariff in the schedule rose (urban 6.85 to 7.35 a unit) but the subsidy letter of 19.05.2026 rose by the same amount.

Sources
FY 2026-27
Government scheme

GoUP raises domestic power subsidy for FY 2026-27 (letter 1307/2020 of 19 May 2026)

Government of Uttar Pradesh · GoUP Letter No. 1307/2020 dated 19.05.2026

The State Government's FY 2026-27 subsidy letter sets a per-unit subsidy of Rs 3.75 for lifeline homes and Rs 3.70 (0-100 units) and Rs 3.50 (101-150 units) for rural metered homes, against Rs 3.50, 3.30 and 3.00 in the 2025 letter. The letter is recorded in the UPERC order, which puts total subsidy at Rs 20,400 crore against Rs 17,100 crore the year before. The payable rate for homes did not change.

Sources

Some details were read from a scanned or partly readable copy of the document.

Show 4 earlier changes since April 2023
FY 2025-26
Tariff order

UPERC tariff order for FY 2025-26: no tariff hike, minor schedule changes

UPERC (UPPCL discoms) · Petitions 2162-2165/2024 and 2176/2024, Tariff Order dated 22 November 2025

The Commission held that the discoms were in surplus and gave no tariff hike for FY 2025-26, with minor changes in the schedule linked to a revised GoUP subsidy letter (5 Aug 2025). The domestic rate payable stayed at urban 5.50, 5.50, 6.00, 6.50 a unit. The order was issued in November 2025, well into the year, and applies seven days after newspaper publication.

Before

UnitsRs/kWh
0–1005.5
100–1505.5
150–3006
Above 3006.5

Fixed: Rs 110/kW/month (urban metered), shown as Rs 90 in the payable column of the FY 2024-25 text; Rs 90 rural; Rs 50 lifeline

After

UnitsRs/kWh
0–1005.5
100–1505.5
150–3006
Above 3006.5

Fixed: Rs 110/kW/month (urban metered); Rs 90 rural; Rs 50 lifeline

Per month, payable after subsidy. Rural metered 3.35, 3.85, 5.00, 5.50 and lifeline 3.00 unchanged. The FY 2024-25 schedule table prints Rs 90.00 as the urban payable fixed charge against Rs 110.00 before subsidy; the FY 2025-26 table prints Rs 110.00, so the urban fixed charge may have moved from 90 to 110, which is not explained in the text read.

Sources

Some details were read from a scanned or partly readable copy of the document.

FY 2025-26
Fuel surcharge

UPERC MYT Regulations 2025: fuel and power purchase surcharge (FPPAS) becomes automatic

UPERC · UPERC (Multi Year Tariff for Distribution) Regulations, 2025; recorded in Tariff Order dated 22 Nov 2025 para 8.6.2

Under the MYT Regulations 2025 the discoms recover higher power purchase costs automatically through a Fuel and Power Purchase Adjustment Surcharge instead of waiting for a tariff hike. The Commission used this as a reason for not raising tariffs in FY 2025-26. The date the regulations took effect is not stated in the order text read; the order date is used.

Source
  • UPERC Tariff Order FY 2025-26, para 8.6.2
    “in MYT Regulations, 2025, has pr ovided automatic recovery of increased power purchase cost through the mechanism of Fuel and Power Purchase Adjustment Surcharge (FPPAS)”

Some details were read from a scanned or partly readable copy of the document.

FY 2024-25
Tariff order

UPERC tariff order for FY 2024-25: no tariff hike, minor schedule changes

UPERC (UPPCL discoms) · Petitions 2040-2043/2023 and 2048/2023, Tariff Order dated 10 October 2024 (corrigendum 11 October 2024)

The Commission gave no tariff hike for FY 2024-25 as the discoms were in surplus, with minor schedule changes (a revised GoUP subsidy letter of 26 Sep 2024). Domestic payable rates were unchanged at urban 5.50, 5.50, 6.00, 6.50 a unit. The order came in October, so the previous year's rates ran until then.

Before

UnitsRs/kWh
0–1005.5
100–1505.5
150–3006
Above 3006.5

Fixed: Rs 110/kW/month (urban metered); Rs 90 rural; Rs 50 lifeline

After

UnitsRs/kWh
0–1005.5
100–1505.5
150–3006
Above 3006.5

Fixed: same (the payable column of the schedule prints Rs 90.00 for urban, see FY 2025-26 note)

Per month, payable after subsidy. Rural metered 3.35, 3.85, 5.00, 5.50; lifeline 3.00.

Sources

Some details were read from a scanned or partly readable copy of the document.

FY 2023-24
Tariff order

UPERC tariff order for FY 2023-24: no tariff hike, domestic rates unchanged

UPERC (UPPCL discoms) · Petitions 1945-1949/2023, Tariff Order dated 24 May 2023

The Commission found the discoms in surplus and gave no tariff hike for FY 2023-24. The discoms had asked for rises (urban 5.50 to 6.50 a unit in the first slab); these were not allowed and the existing rates continued.

Before

UnitsRs/kWh
0–1005.5
100–1505.5
150–3006
Above 3006.5

Fixed: Rs 110/kW/month (urban metered); Rs 90 rural; Rs 50 lifeline

After

UnitsRs/kWh
0–1005.5
100–1505.5
150–3006
Above 3006.5

Fixed: unchanged

Per month, payable. Rural metered 3.35, 3.85, 5.00, 5.50; lifeline 3.00. The 'existing' column of the order's Table 8-1 is the rate that continued.

Sources

Some details were read from a scanned or partly readable copy of the document.

What we could not confirm

  • Each UPERC tariff starts seven days after the discoms publish it in newspapers. We did not find these dates. Our start dates are the order dates, so the real start is about 1 to 2 weeks later.
  • The 2019-20 order is a scanned copy with no text. We took its rates from the 2020-21 order, which kept the same rates.
  • For 2018-19, we read only the summary of the order.
  • We read the 2022-23 order from a scanned copy. Its rates match the UPPCL public notice.
  • Our bills do not include the regulatory surcharge of 2014 to 2019, the fuel surcharge or electricity duty.

Use this data

Cite this page. ebbillcalc.com, “Uttar Pradesh electricity tariff history, FY 2015-16 to FY 2026-27”, Sri Murugan Systems, 16 Oct 2026. https://ebbillcalc.com/uttar-pradesh-electricity-tariff-changes/

You can copy and use the data and the charts. Give credit to ebbillcalc.com with a link to this page. Licence: CC BY 4.0.

Questions

How much has the electricity tariff gone up in Uttar Pradesh since 2015?

For 200 units a month, the UPERC tariff went from ₹1,088 in 2015-16 to ₹1,345 in 2026-27, +24%. Prices in general rose +63% in that time, so the tariff fell 24% after inflation.

Why has the UP home tariff not changed since 2019?

UPERC kept the rates for homes in each order from 2020 to 2026. Its tariff before the cross-subsidy adjustment rose from Rs 6.50 a unit in 2022 to Rs 7.35 in 2026.

Does the Government of Uttar Pradesh pay a subsidy for urban homes?

No. The orders that we read show no State subsidy for urban metered homes. The State subsidy goes to lifeline and rural homes.

Are electricity duty and fuel surcharge in these figures?

No. The figures show energy, fixed and customer charges only. Your bill also has electricity duty or tax, and a fuel surcharge in most months.

Sources